Book an Appointment!

You can now pre-book a peer support session! Once you’ve decided which of our volunteers you’d like to chat with, create an appointment by emailing us.



Alexandra: She/her

Alexandra was born and raised in Guatemala and can provide support in Spanish as well if need be. She is in her first year for her MFA in Writing, loves the outdoors and is passionate about mental health and supporting peers. She understands the immigrant experience and/or being away from home. She can offer support to all those who feel like “outsiders” or dealing with their mental health due to feeling overwhelmed. Her lived experiences have shaped her into someone who cares deeply about helping others and providing mental health support to peers who are having a hard time. She will always provide a welcoming, supportive and friendly environment. You are safe to connect with her. 


Ash Smith

Ash: They/them

Hi folks, my name is Ash Smith, and my pronouns are they/them. I’m a second-year psychology major and gender studies minor. In my free time, I like to listen to audiobooks on the beach and obsess over my house plants. Some topics I can provide support around are queer and trans experiences, accessing trans medical care, coping with anxiety and depression, especially in a university setting, and how mental health and oppressed identities can intersect. I also love chatting about all things plants, rocks, and greek mythology related. I’m looking forward to connecting with you soon!


Ashleigh: She/her

Hey there, My name is Ashleigh (she/her) and I am going into the final year of my B.A. in psych. When not in class you can find me hanging out with my dog, frolicking on walking trails, and attempting to try all the eggs benny in the city.


  • Age: 26
  • Gender: Female
  • Ethnicity: White
  • Nationality: Canadian

Lived experience topics:

  • Career change
  • Academic stress
  • Friendship challenges
  • Relationship problems


Cathleen: She/they

Hi, my name is Cathleen! I use she/they pronouns. I’m going into my 5th year at Uvic in psychology and sociology. I’m interested in clinical psychology, specifically topics surrounding well-being in 2SLGBTQIA+ individuals. Outside of school I enjoy reading, cooking, and dance.

I am comfortable discussing topics surrounding the 2SLGBTQ+ community, disability, school/ work stress, financial stress, and interpersonal conflicts.


Claire: she/her
Hi! My name is Claire and I am fourth year student in the faculty of social sciences here at UVIC. I am a born and raised BC girl, growing up in a small town in the East Kootenays’s before making the exciting move to Victoria for school. When I am not nose deep in one of my many political science readings or psychology quizzes I enjoy exploring the island’s beaches, watching 90s sitcoms, and taking my friends to Dairy Queen for Blizzards. I am super excited to be a part of the PSC team this year and I look forward to chatting with you!


Emma: She/her

Emma (she/her) is a 4th year Bachelor of Psychology student who hopes to carry on and get her Masters in Counselling to become a therapist. She is passionate about social justice and equality and is committed to practicing in an anti-oppressive way. In her free time she is a big book worm, loves to go on walks and enjoy nature in Victoria and going thrift shopping.

Topics Emma is comfortable talking about include: mental illness, divorce, general and academic stress, family matters/issues


Evelyn: She/her

I am an Indigenous woman of colour from Central America and a refugee immigrant. As an immigrant to Canada and a refugee from El Salvador, I have direct experience with the dramatic effects of war in my home country and learning English in an English-speaking country. I have also been the primary caregiver to family members, including my late mother, and have experience with healthcare, patient care, caregiver, advocacy, social service agencies, navigating complex systems, youth and university students’ mentoring, and volunteering as well as being part of a multidisciplinary medical team. I am a Crisis Intervention and Suicide Prevention responder which means that I provide non-judgmental emotional support through risk assessment, collaborative safety planning, and crisis intervention to individuals experiencing various degrees of emotional distress. I also support individuals to resources in their community as appropriate to their needs.

Immediate and long-term career and employment goals:

  • Immediate: complete my BSW and complete my last practicum in Clinical Social Work
  • Longer-term: practice as a clinical social worker in healthcare and attend graduate school in September 2023

Community Interests: youth, university students, and young adults; middle-age, indigenous population of Latin America; BIPOC; immigrants/refugees (both new and intergenerational); war survivors, trauma survivors, physical and mental disabilities; substance use and mental health; intersections between these communities.

Favourite things to do: Water walking, trampoline exercise and stretches, talks to family and friends, walks along the ocean, listening to loved ones who need space to be heard, experiment with mixing non-alcoholic hot and cold drinks, and enjoying a cup of coffee daily..


Isabela: She/her

Isabela is a 3rd year Bachelor of Psychology student planning to go to counselling school. She immigrated to Canada from Brazil in 2017 and she’s been living in Victoria since then. She is passionate about mental health, social justice, and the challenges faced by immigrants in Canada. In her free time she enjoys spending time with friends, traveling, doing outdoor activities such as surfing, skiing and paddle boarding. You can catch her working at Felicita’s pub on campus once in a while.

Topics Isabela is comfortable talking about include: mental health illness, feeling homesick, financial stress, cultural shock and toxic relationships.


Kiera: She/her
Kiera will be graduating this year with a Bachelor of Science in psychology and with a minor in education. She has hopes of becoming a health researcher or occupational therapist as she is passionate about learning, teaching, and accessibility. In her free time, she loves spending time with her friends, taking photos, and spending time outside.
Topics Kiera is comfortable talking about include chronic illness, concussions, stress, academics, and ableism.


Bio coming soon!


Maren: She/her

Hi! My name is Maren and I am a fourth year psychology student. I have a passion for helping others and supporting people through their challenges, whatever they may be. In my spare time, I like to play musical instruments, go hiking, do jigsaw puzzles, and cook.

I am comfortable talking about:

  • Divorced and/or blended families
  • Friendship conflicts
  • Living in residence
  • Motivation
  • Organizing coursework and extracurriculars
  • Time-management


Morgan: She/her

Morgan is currently completing her master’s thesis on working-class lesbians in 1970s Vancouver. When she isn’t studying for school or volunteering, Morgan is an introvert who enjoys listening to music, playing guitar or wandering down strange rabbit holes on Wikipedia.

Morgan is comfortable talking about gender, sexuality, and living with chronic physical and mental illness.


River: They/them

My name is River, and I use they/them pronouns. I identify as trans non-binary, queer, and on the ace spectrum. I have/am part of a dissociative System and have autism. I’m in the writing program, and love to focus on creative nonfiction and exploring my life experiences. In my free time I enjoy hanging out with my friends, collecting cool rocks from the beach, and throwing axes in a queer league!

I’m always ready to talk about the following:

  • Exploring identity
  • Neurodivergency – especially autism
  • Being 2SLGBTQIA+
  • Gender identity
  • Dissociative disorders
  • Healing from trauma
  • Changing majors
  • Unpacking internal biases


Sie: They/them

I’m Sie (pronounced “see”, they/them)! I’m a third year visual arts major who works as a designer and illustrator. I speak English and intermediate Japanese. I’m interested in technology, psychology, metal/rock music, history, hockey, and as an artist, I am deeply familiar with the concept of digital creation and mental health advocacy in art, as well as the big questions of the human experience. I’m from the land of the Secwépemc people, 100 Mile House, B.C. I am a digital media and art tutor who has done charity art work and humanitarian art shows. I’ve been with the PSC since 2020, just after graduating highschool.

I’m familiar with the court system and struggles, family justice, mental health and resource, and LGBTQ+ struggle (especially identity and nonconformity). As a lifelong “top 5 percent” student with little familial connection, I strongly empathize with the gifted child phenomenon and found family, as well as the importance of education, respect, and brotherhood. I have quite a bit of knowledge of chemical imbalances and medication methods for mental illness. My time is always available for an ear, be it for venting, learning something new, or opinions on a background colour. Come ask me about obscure Japanese rock bands!


Taylor: She/her

My name is Taylor (she/her), I am studying Neurobiology at UVic and this will be my third year volunteering with the Peer Support Centre! In my free time I like to spend time at the beach, hike, and explore new coffee shops with my friends. I look forward to chatting with you!

Based on my lived experiences I look forward to chatting with you about the triumphs and struggles a lot of us face as students – living away from home, “grade shock,” changing relationships, loneliness, balance, wellness, studying techniques, and exciting or scary new experiences.


Valentina: She/her

Hi! My name is Valentina, I am a rising 4th year psych student looking, to one day be a counselor! Whenever people ask where I am from, I always say “a little bit from everywhere”; I was born in Washington DC to Italian parents but grew up in Vietnam because of my parents’ work. I have done lots of traveling, and absolutely love meeting new people and finding new connections. I am an open book and I am always here to lend an ear. I am especially a good person to talk to about the ups and downs of moving, transferring schools, living and learning to thrive with chronic illness as well as general university things like roommate issues, juggling school and work, and self care. When I am not at school, you can find me working as a support worker at a foster home for young boys, hanging out with my 14 year old rescue dog, Tugboat, or knitting in front of a true crime documentary. I’d love to meet you and help you anyway I can!